Thursday, October 7, 2010

well...

Wow. All I can say is wow. Yesterday we went to draculas castle (and no, I didn't get bit XD) and another one called Pelis castle. I loved draculas castle the most and got loads of pix. The second castle was too extravagent for me. I didn't get pix because we had to pay for pix.
Today we had our final day with te romanians. I will miss them. I got to know some of the guys a lot and I am going to pray for them everyday!!
Time for pizza :) love you all!

Monday, October 4, 2010

wow...just wow...

good morning everyone! its currently 20 to 9 and i am eating cinnamon toast crunch. mm!

So yesterday a LOT happened. I went to the center to help paint, but my back was killing me. it hurt. gr. so i got to help my mommy in the kitchen. :D

I also got to go to a huge mall and i had mcdonalds for dinner. it was actually different than we have at home. it tasted healthier than american stuff. the fries were amazing and they didnt taste like grease. the stores were uberly expensive though.

i also got to go out with the street ministry last night. it was a moving experience. it was cool - in the fact that we got to meet and talk to them and got to know them a bit. we got to give them groceries and food. it really brought some joy into their lives. they were all very nice people and i am praying for everyone of them.

well, im off to start to paint rooms! im excited. we also get to go to the philharmonic tonight. WIN.

thats all folks! love you :)

Sunday, October 3, 2010

Hello!
It's monday and I feel exhausted. I think I could have easily slept till 1130. Ugh. Must...have...more...coffee!
Tonight I am going on the street ministry. Joy.
Yesterday we went to an international church which spoke half romanian and half english. I had a headake afterwards,but it was really cool.
We then went to chucescus palace. It made me sick to think how the ruler spent all his $$ on a palace while his country starved. Ew. The palace quite beautiful.
The shopping was interesting. We went to a 4 story mall... It's pretty much the same as america but in lei. 1$ (us) = 3$ (lei).
Time for more breakky methinks. Luv you all!

go pack go!

well, it about 830 at night and i am watching the packer game. its 1230 WI and im actually really used to the time change. i'm really getting used to the culture too. its probably way to early to be saying that, but i am. The question is; Could i live here?" probably not in Romania, but definately in Europe.

We had our first Romanian meal. Like the food of their culture. IT WAS AMAZING! They served us grilled chicken, schnitzel, potatoes, cabbage rolls, and a type of romanian sausage. Bread was served with our meal and i have come to the conclusion that my moms bread has some serious competition. The potatoes were my fave. the schnitzel was ok, but it tasted like a chicken funnel cake. of course we were given dessert. it was a huge donut covered in plain yogurt with cherries and a donut hole on top. mmmmmmmm..... am i making you hungry yet? :P

we also got to go shopping in the HUGE mall, and i got to have some real european espresso. MMMMMMMM!

Tomorrow is going to be a funfunfun day. and i will post what i did today when i wake up tomorrow. Tootles!

Saturday, October 2, 2010

Good morning everyone! I'm currently feasting on breakfast - which is a prague ham and cheese on toast, fresh orange juice, and cocoa puffs in hot milk. That's right, hot milk. It's much better and you would expect.
Yesterday was awesome. We arrived at the mission house, and the drive there was interesting. There are stray dogs everywhere. No one really has pets, just community pets. People still drive horse-and-cart here. There are also houses that have fences that go at the end of the drive to keep out stray dogs. Most of the houses are brightly colored and they are quite beautiful.
When we got to the mission house we were told all about the place and what this place was about. We were all told what had to happen (i.e. jobs) and I volunteered to paint and prime. We have a team of 8-10 and we accomplished a lot. We had to sweep up all the dry wall, mop the floors, and clean windows. THEN we could prime. When we went to dinner, we were told we accomplished 3 days work in 8 hours. Win!
We went to a graduation ceremony of one of the gents from the center. It was very emotional. Then we ate grilled chicken, a potato dish, and french bread. It was as good as my moms!
Were doing a lot today - international church, chuchescus palace, shopping, and, believe or not, THE PACKER GAME :D
Love you all!

Friday, October 1, 2010

I'm here!

hello everyone!

I'm happy to say I have made it to romania! Yes, I made it through security. I like riding in planes. I don't even mind the turbulance.

the hotel is really nice. I will have to admit, european hotels are REALLY different from amaerican ones. They have a card tht you put in to a slot and that controls your elecricity. If you take it out,all the lights turn off. It's weird. And the toilet is strange. its has a button you push on the wall to flauh it. and the shower is teeny tiny. the bed is really comfy tho. its rly low to the floor. it has no boxspring! but its comfy :)

the one thing they know how to do in romania is breakfast. I'm eating a stellar breakfast.